070725.Bath, I’ll Give You Rustication

July 25, 2007 at 9:17 PM | Posted in Architecture, Bath, Chisel Marks, Conservation, doorways, Ionic Order, people, somerset | 9 Comments

070718.62.SO.Bath
A long time ago in a land far away, when I was first learned the term rustication, my professor, already an angry and unhappy man, immediately explained to his rapt audience that every year the entire class would always confuse the word and write it as rustification. He said always — and without fail, and of course, that’s what sunk me. I still fight that f to this day.070718.56.SO.Bath

This was of course by design since he followed with a story about his friend who teaches at Harvard. I’m sure the person is more of an acquaintance since I doubt this man has any friends but apparently the Harvard architectural professor deliberately pronounced facade to his freshman audience as fakAde, and was greatly amused that the class followed his precedent into their later years in school.

070718.57.SO.Bath
Back to the images. This facade of the Pump Room faces Stall Street. This stage was designed by Thomas Baldwin but the building was taken over in 1792 and redesigned and completed by John Palmer. This particular type of rustication present on each block is termed vermiculated, expressing the appearance of a worm-ridden block. The simple inversed-beak joints between the blocks are simply termed as chamfered. Note the Ionic order here along the famed colonnade.

070718.53.SO.BathThe street musician in the first photo performs on Stall Street when Abbey’s cloister square is occupied by another. There is some agreed upon schedule, as each act always ends five minutes to the hour and the musicians switch spots.

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Nice.

  2. I’ve learn some excellent stuff here. Certainly price bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how much effort you place to make one of these great informative web site.

  3. Hi there, I found your site via Google while looking for a comparable topic, your site got
    here up, it seems good. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hi there, just become alert to your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative.
    I am going to be careful for brussels. I’ll appreciate when you continue this in future. Numerous other people will likely be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  4. Wow, good entry.

  5. Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am
    impressed! Very useful info specifically the last part 🙂
    I care for such information a lot. I was seeking this particular information for a
    very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  6. Every weekend i used to visit this web site, for the reason that i
    wish for enjoyment, as this this web site conations actually fastidious funny
    stuff too.

  7. Hi, yup this piece of writing is in fact
    fastidious and I have learned lot of things from it about blogging.
    thanks.

  8. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you penning this post and also the rest of the website
    is also really good.

  9. Buy cheap Cowboys jerseys from china Paypal


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

