070512.Widcombe, Walls

May 14, 2007 at 5:19 AM | Posted in Bath, Chisel Marks, Gardens & Parks, Light and Shadow, somerset, Trees, Widcombe | 6 Comments

This is on Perrymead Road, just off of Pope’s Walk leading to Perrymead Roman Catholic Cemetery in Widcombe, Bath.
070419.134.SO.Bath.Widcombe.PerrymeadRd.PerrymeadRCCem
Dwelling on an earlier post
, I wonder what everyone thinks about favoring either the roots or foliage of a tree. In this dissected post, both photos are from the same tree and illustrate the same theme. Below, the roots have undermined a nearby Bath Stone retaining wall and the tree essentially has been molded to supplant the wall. Above, the yellowish green foliage has been around Bath for a few months. It might not even be that color anymore. To me, it’s a reminder that I’ve missed the chance to get some of the good panoramic winter shots of Bath. The trunk that became a block in the wall now has leaves that block my view. This wasn’t planned as a post, I’m somewhat busy now and stuck by a computer so expect……………….
070419.135.SO.Bath.Widcombe.PerrymeadRd.PerrymeadRCCem

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i,too prefer the trees in winter.of course these shots are wonderful nonetheless!

  2. Decisions. Well I like them both. If I had to pick one without the other it would mean the death of the tree. LOL I like your work.

    I wanted to thank you for your visits to my blog. Thanks.

  3. That is one heck of a root system.

  4. Man, I LOVE that photo of the roots, the wall, the ivy. I was thinking of photographing a field near us in all seasons and at several times of day, a la Monet.

    Thanks for coming by flying again. I can’t let so long go before coming here.

  5. That is an amazing tree. Life will find a way.

    Thanks for stopping by for some ice cream!

  6. Hello,

    I’m a graphic design student from UdeM, and I’ve seen photos of trees and yours are great!

    I’m currently working on a project about deforestation and I wanted to ask for your permission to use this photo.

    I would be forever thankful.

    Rebeca


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

