070508.Bath, “In the [Men’s] Room”

May 8, 2007 at 5:12 AM | Posted in Bath, Peephole Views, somerset | 9 Comments

To the Moon!

As stated in yesterday’s post on an aspect of the SouthGate scheme, the ‘Ham Gardens Convenience Rooms for Gentlemen, Ladies, the Disabled and Mothers and Babies’ (FIND ISSUES THERE!) will be closed today. The facility used to be free and open all night, well the men’s room anyway. Women, babies, and the disabled were directed into that room after nine. (Why not the disabled room? Isn’t the term disabled mildly offensive, or did they think it was better than infirm?)
070303.242.Somset.Bath.Ham.PubRestroom At any event, I bring your attention to its sink. I first saw this type of sink 10+ years ago nearby and in Boston, Massachusetts. Before the era of sensor restroom technology, I thought it was incredible. Three buttons, or one simple button that started the process, took you through water, soap, and drying. Simply incredibly–a car wash for your hands! I could go on but ten plus years ago I thought it was an incredible piece of design, something I was envious of, and I described it to many a hapless person. Another great gizmo I saw was this wax paper/aluminum foil/paper towel dispenser combo in the “’50s House” kitchen of the Shelburne Museum, Shelburne Vermont. The photo is from 2002, taken on one of my many returns to gaze at this incredible device. I think I may have even written about it in grade or high school, maybe even planned my future with reintroducing the model to the market and thereby getting rich. Will you all at least pay me for these photos? Don’t use the ideas, I still have them in reserve.

070303.240.Somset.Bath.Ham.PubRestroom020802.32.VT.Shelburne.Museum.FiftiesHus

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] Light and Shadow, Ruins, somerset, Columns, Bath, Architecture | Tomorrow they will close the public toilets in Ham Garden! Ahhh. That therefore will be my post tomorrow. (Above:) The twentieth century Churchill House […]

  2. First of all, that IS a cool sink.

    Secondly, the dispenser doesn’t amaze me that much ‘cos we’ve got one in the tiny galley kitchen of my grandfather’s house. But then, everything in that house is from no later than the 1960’s.

  3. Addendum: When I was about 10, my family went to England. We have a photo of a sign directing “Ladies, Gentlemen, and Disabled Toilets.”

    There’s nothing I love more than a toilet that’s been disabled.

  4. i learnt today that buddhists believe disabled people are ‘that way’ becaus ethey did something bad in a past life..can you believe that ja.mez, can you? hmm?

  5. I like the photo, thanks.

  6. It’s amazing how hard the tree searches for food and water and it is a never ending cycle. If the water doesn’t go up the tree all the time then the tree withers and dies. I like your photography.’

    I hope you got to see how I got to fly last night. If you did then thank you for visiting my blog.

  7. Ha! I took the photos of similar kind of sink in the first week I arrived the UK. Actually, I took the photos in a public toilet that is located in the Avon Park, the place we assembled for coach trips.

  8. Really great. those roots always lokk to be like giant animal’s paws.

  9. Ooops, wrong URL above.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

