070225.Claverton, Exit Ralph Allen, Pursued by Pyramidal Mausoleum

February 25, 2007 at 1:49 AM | Posted in Architecture, Bath, Cathedrals and churches, cemeteries - churchyards - and tombstones, Chisel Marks, Claverton, Conservation, doorways, Overcast, Restoration, somerset, Tabernacles, Towers, Trees | 11 Comments

BDP to the moon!

Copy of 070205.36.Somset.Claverton.St Mary the Virgin Parish.Churchyard.RalphAllenMausoleum
I’m not sure who designed this mausoleum for Ralph Allen and various other family members but this is where he lies. He did not have children so his estate went to distant relatives, which is why his house ended up belonging to a rich Roman Catholic cardinal and then became a Catholic school. This is in the small parish churchyard of St. Mary the Virgin in Claverton, which is below Claverton Down. Again, I don’t know why he was buried here in this town versus Combe Down or Bath proper, but true to his life, he used his death to advertise his life in stone. As you can see, the pyramid has required many tie rods over the years, the repair supports almost become a structure in themselves. (The structure was recently restored in 1965.)
Copy of 070205.39.Somset.Claverton.St Mary the Virgin Parish.Churchyard.RalphAllenMausoleum
Copy of 070205.40.Somset.Claverton.St Mary the Virgin Parish.Churchyard.RalphAllenMausoleum
Copy of 070205.38.Somset.Claverton.St Mary the Virgin Parish.Churchyard.RalphAllenMausoleum070213.30.Somset.Bath.Bath Before Beau Nash.Ralph Allen

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Another dreary day in the cemetary. Hey, is it illegal to go to cemetaries after dusk in England, too?

    I like the up-view of the pyramid. Were all those tie-rods added in the 1990’s? It looks like this pyramid would’ve collapsed on itself about 5 years after it was built. Geeeeeez.

  2. I absolutely love the first cemetery shot – perfect time of year for it, too!
    Thanks for coming to my party…I’m still enjoying the left-over jello πŸ˜‰

  3. Great series J! LOVE the top shot…grass is so green around those eerie tomb markers…looks like something out of a movie set! Very kewl! Do do do doooooo! πŸ˜‰

    HEY! Check it out! You’re famous now! πŸ˜‰ xo
    http://santaclaradailyphoto.blogspot.com/

  4. Hey, James! I’ve missed your spooky photos. Thanks for coming back for a visit. It was timely too, because my sister just called me from London this morning to tell me about her visit to Bath yesterday! Of course with every description I was picturing YOUR photos. But when I asked why they hadn’t seen any cemeteries, she got confused . . .

  5. Great shots, interesting post!

  6. love the top pic. i really miss the smell of england, and churchyards (my grandfather was a vicar you see). will you grow your hair like ralph’s?

  7. Hey,

    They do lock cems. here at night, which often results in people getting locked in but the walls are too high so it’s all for naught. The tie-rods look older given the rust and their overuse suggests a Victorian at work (cue evil-sounding music).
    The hair might get that long since barbers here are expensive….

  8. Hi mates, good article and pleasant arguments commented
    at this place, I am truly enjoying by these.

  9. Spot on with this write-up, I actually feel this website needs much more attention. I’ll probably be returning to read more, thanks for the information!

  10. I every time spent my half an hour to read this
    webpage’s posts every day along with a cup of coffee.

  11. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d definitely
    donate to this excellent blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to new updates and will share this website with my Facebook group.
    Chat soon!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

