070212.Cardiff, “Pa, I Lost my Balloon”

February 12, 2007 at 1:59 AM | Posted in Architecture, Cathedrals and churches, Hot air balloons, Overcast, people, stairs, Waterfront | 3 Comments

Copy of 070210.257.SGlam.Cardiff.Senate
OK, lame title. There’s O2 written on the lost balloon, which suggests that H2 might be written on the heart-shaped balloons(?) Please, DPers, help me: compete to caption this properly! This is just like a New Yorker contest, and the winning entry will be published…as will all other entries if left on the message board. (I will not delete.)

This was taken from the porch of the Welsh Senate looking south out into Cardiff Bay. The church is the far distance is St. Augustine’s. Not pictured, but a few hundred feet to the left is the Norwegian Church, where Roald Dahl was christened. There is Rohl Dahl Plas somewhere nearby, perhaps this was it. OK, get to work: I have faith in you.

Copy (2) of Untitled-1

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You want me to come up with a better caption? Have you seen MY captions recently? Sheesh. No way.

    Not that I’m any sort of expert on photography (and I know you disapprove of my “extensive GIMPing”), but I might’ve desaturated the red signs on the right and the purple garbage bag on the left. The entire picture is so colorless except for the little girl, her balloons, and the objects I’ve mentioned… and my eye is drawn to the signs and garbage bag as much as it is drawn to the main subject, the little girl.

    I really like this picture, though. It’s very cute and very UK (wait a minute, how are you posting pictures of Wales on a Bath DP site?).

  2. “Pa, I Lost my Balloon” et qui cours aprés le ballon, c’est le papa ;o) et voila le papa aprés il est fatigué ;o) belle photo


    “Pa, I Lost my Balloon” and which run after the balloon, it is the dad; O) and veiled the dad after it is tired; O) beautiful photograph

  3. get out of wales before it is too late ja-mes!!
    you’ll be joining an all male choir before you know it!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

