070130.Stowe, Don’t Look

January 30, 2007 at 12:03 AM | Posted in Architecture, Buckinghamshire, cumulus clouds, Gardens & Parks, Light and Shadow, Mansion, Stowe | 16 Comments

061101.295.Bucks.Stowe

Okay, one of my principal joys in life is breaking onto the roofs of buildings. The fact that I was allowed up on top of Stowe House, now a school with a new lead roof, makes this only moderately cool. My pictures from rooftops, however, are never all that good. Since I was being let up to the roof right at Sunset, I figured the same would be true here but looking directly at the sun with the shadows may have enhanced this photo while hurting my camera. I try not to digitally alter the photos I present on the DP (except my attempts at Photoshop) so the same is true here–nothing has been touched or rotated (I may want to fix it later…).

 

CIA Director Quietly Buys Nuclear-Attack Insurance

BETHESDA, MD—According to sources at the Allstate Insurance Company, CIA Director Michael Hayden purchased nuclear-attack insurance Wednesday, paying a $100,000 monthly premium for his homes in suburban Washington, Pittsburgh, and near Cheyenne Mountain, CO. “It’s a typical nuclear policy that protects the insured from damages caused by fallout—pretty straightforward, though at that monthly rate, I don’t usually sell too many of them,” said Bethesda, MD–based Allstate agent Gary Rutter, adding that Hayden paid for the first premium with a certified bank check to guarantee that the policy would take effect no later than next Monday. “After he purchased the insurance, he asked again if everything was set for Monday. I assured him it was, and then he left.” Insurance agents throughout the D.C. area reported selling 35 such policies in the last week, all to high-ranking government officials. The Onion

 

16 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You’re right, the flare you’ve got goin’ on here is magnificent.

    What’s all this about being PERMITTED up there? Break onto more roofs! Even on the other side of the Atlantic, I can hear your heart breaking from the lack of lock-picking and door-forcing in your life. Come Friday, celebrate your freedom accordingly.

  2. P.S. Does looking directly at the sun really damage the camera, if it’s digital? I’ve taken a lot of shots like this, and I’ve always wondered about that. I decided I only needed to worry about my eyeballs, but I’m apparently wrong. Whoooops.

  3. not actually sure. will some kind blogger please enlighten us?

  4. This is the GOSPEL!

    Digital cameras operate more like video cameras than traditional film cameras. They are very sensitive to light. In fact, you should not aim digital cameras directly into the sun or other bright lights as this may damage the chip. Bright areas tend to wash out and become white. They do have low light features and some have flash capability.

    And Heaven forbid you have a damaged CHIP! It could throw off the WHOLE taste of your hotdog!!! 😉

  5. Hah! Well crud on a freaking stick. I’m glad I don’t have a more expensive camera, now.

  6. You big GOOFBALL NERD WALLY ASS! Why didn’t you TELL me you were YOU! Ja….GEEEEEEEEZ…that’ll teach me to assume someone is someone else…someone I don’t really know…sigh~~~~~~~~~~~~

    I think YOU need a bath now…no, better yet, go wash your mouth out with SOAP for sneaking up behind me!

    Right JosyC?

    >/

  7. only moderately cool? how modest thou art. how humble. i love this shot. it reminds me of ‘northern lights’ by philip pullman, which if you have nay read, you must!!

  8. aaargh!! my comment vapourised. i think jc did it!!

    only moderately cool? ja-mes, you are modest, and humble. i love this shot. it reminds me of ‘nothern lights’ by philip pullman, which if you have nay read,thou must!!

  9. geez…

  10. What are those odd little things on the right? Chimneys? In any case, I think this is a great shot, with that big explosion of a sunset.

    I never heard that aiming a digital camera at the sun will damage the chip. Why would that be so? The light is just recorded as data, like any other light, right?

    Hmmmm….

  11. Urns, foo’. I have had it with these mo****f****** decorative urns on this mo****f****** new lead roof!

  12. les ombres sont superbes, bravo pour cette photo

    the shades are superb, cheer for this photograph

  13. Hey, Pod, just so’s you know, WordPress often identifies ME as spam and holds my comment for moderation… which is particularly stupid since I have administer powers on this blog (for when Ja.mes ain’t around). What, I’m spamming my own blog?

    (In all due fairness to WordPress, this is the fourth time I’ve made a comment on this post.)

    Um, right, Ame. Right on. I know exactly what you’re talking about.

    Samuel L, I heart you.

    Seems like we’re still debating the aiming-cameras-at-the-sun thing, so I’ll stay tuned..

  14. Great picture.

  15. Oh oops…this one is nice too — but I meant to comment on the picute of the real dog and the rusty dog. I hadn’t seen this God Moment one Yet.

  16. hmmmm…very interesting!
    Thanks google


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

