070128.Bath, 1:3 Tree to Huggers (ie: Waste of Fresh Air)

January 28, 2007 at 12:18 AM | Posted in Bath, Chisel Marks, countryside, Gardens & Parks, Jane Austen, Monuments and Memorials, Overcast, people, somerset, Trees | 8 Comments

061005.01.Somset.Bath

So this was the most boring thing I ever had time to watch, back when I had time to watch things. Excited about this post? So am I.
This was from a while back, back when I was taking pictures of the Jane Austen film shoot at the Royal Crescent. I was waiting for one of their 45 minute breaks to end when I started listening to these three guys. They had been trying to decide where to put a new memorial plaque for this tree. Apparently, there was an old one on the stone but it was no more. Instead of putting a new one back on the stone, they wanted it hover above the ground. However, they weren’t going to remove the old stone “because the stone’s foundation was deep” and they’d need a shovel, or something. They didn’t want to test how deep but they had apparently called up a retired predecessor, interviewed him about this particular plaque, and decided that it was too much trouble to remove the stone.
I wasn’t paying too much attention then, and I’m not paying too much attention to what I’m typing now but the debate went as follows:
*If they placed the new and improved plaque in front of the stone, it’d be too far away from the tree
*If they placed the plaque in back of the tree, there’d be a relationship established but the rock would block the plaque.
-“Can we keep the stone but move the plaque to the other side of the tree.”
-“No, no. We need the plaque to relate to the Royal Crescent,” or something. I’m forgetting the exact reasons.
They discused the potential of tree roots, the effect of the growing tree trunk, the angle the plaque had to be at for the rainwater to wash off smut. In the course of these technicalities, Shakespeare was quoted, both Latin and Greek were spoken and the modern affect of classical education was explored. I listened to this for about an hour. I had nothing else to do. Then it started to rain and I left. But not them, they kept discussing the future of this memorial.
I should go back and see what they ended up doing with it.
My heart’s just not into this post. I could never take care of memorials for trees.

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. WOW J! You can’t fool US! You were SO into this post…and that conversation TOOOOOOOO! Deep! Like that ROOT! Nice job PhD! 😉 OH! Yeah! Go check on it and report back…this could be come a series! It could take root and branch out forever! OK, I’ll make like a tree and leave! Siiiiiiiigh-press…

  2. Your ability to remember garbage like this never ceases to amaze me.

    (Don’t worry, you have useful talents, too.)

  3. No matter what you wrote to convince us you were bored, I was mesmerized. I read every word. I wanted to know just what they said. Something about your narrative style. And I don’t often get into longer posts, don’t finish reading ’em.

    I think those guys are very sweet. This reminds me of what we went through to bury my brother’s ashes . . . where would the plaque go . . no, that’s too close to where the children play, etc.

  4. You can evidently be very entertaining without really paying much attention.

    And I think you need to click here

  5. I think, you could write a novel from nothing or everything or both. And I read every word also waiting some culmination, but perhaps we will get it, when gentlemen have decided something.

    Thank you for your proposal for a tunnel boy.
    I have a question for you in my answer.
    Have a nice week.

  6. Your commentary was hilarious! So British I suppose!!!!! You made me laugh!

  7. Hmmmm….why does the tree need a memorial? Is it a special tree? Can’t it just grow in anonymity?

  8. Everything in Britain has a monument or memorial attached to it, even the monument and memorials. Nothing in Britain is anonymous, except the lower class masses.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

