070107.Bath, St. Michael’s Pevsner Architectural Church Chat

January 7, 2007 at 12:57 AM | Posted in Architecture, Bath, Cathedrals and churches, Chisel Marks, Columns, Pevsner, somerset, Tabernacles, Towers, Tuscan Order | 15 Comments

Everybody, check out today’s featured picture on Wikipedia.

060924.05.Somset.Bath.Borthgate St. PostOffice and St. Michaels

St. Michael, Broad Street. At the sharp corner with Walcot Street and in the point de vue up Northgate Street. The church is of medieval original and lay originally ante muros. The present church is of 1835-7, by G. P. Manners. Its immediate predecessor dated from 1742 and had a dome (Collinson). Manner’s church displays a crazy W tower, tall and narrow with a huge group of three stepped lancets, buttresses with the stepped-set offs of Wells, and at the top a tall octagonal open lantern with spire. The tower is flanked by polygonal porches. The sides have the same buttresses and the same group of lancets. – A “hall-chuch” inside, that is with aisles the same height as the nave. Thin tall circular piers with four attached shafts. Quadripartite plaster rib-vaulting. Polygonal apse with tall blank arcading. – PAINTING. Two panles attributed to William Hoare and Rombinson. – PLATE. Paten by Clare 1720; Chalice, Flagon and three Dishes by George Wickes 1743; Cup 1797; two Almsdishes 1828. – MONUMENT. Ritual W side of S porch, i.e. really N side of SE porch. Probably by the same hand as the Coward monument in the Abbey, with a weeping putto by an urb. It is to Samuel Emes; date illegible.” …from Nikolaus Pevsner, The Buildings of England: North Somerset and Bristol, (Harmondsworth, Middlesex: Penguin Books, 1958), 107-108.

061024.070.Somset.Bath061024.072.Somset.Bath

This photo is still recent (the city hasn’t removed its Christmas decorations yet) but it rained all of yesterday.

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I just LOVE this architecture…it calls to me! LOL! Beautiful Shot James! Maybe I’ll get to experience it first-hand in Spring! YAY! Wanna be part of the DP First Annual UK Blogger’s Frolic I’m organizing? LOL! ;)

  2. Oh, I’m in. We’ll get a greyhound, pack it with DP fans, and tour the island. Will SoCal be next?

  3. NO! NORCAL…I’m in NOR CAL! LOL! And YEAH! Still have the label…it won’t peel OFF…it’s UBER-STUCK! LOL! ;) YAY! Really hope you can make it! =)))

  4. And you silly BOY! How did you know California was an island?!? I just learned that Juan Rodriguez Cabrillo…the FIRST European to set foot on Ca Dirt, THOUGHT it was an island back in 1542! LOL! You read my mind….magic powers!!! WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! ;)

  5. OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOH! BLONDE MOMENT!!! ExCUSE me! U meant the Island of UK! LOLOL! Ahhhhh…I just got uber-excited by it all! ;) Sure…that sounds like a BLAST…we can leaving the driving to someone and the par-tay-ing to US! WOOHOO! And I have to wait until APRIL??? Don’t think I’m gonna MAKE it! =)

  6. Hey thanks James! What can I say…I’m just a crazy CA Gurl! I’m TRYING to behave myself! ;)

  7. LOL! Not AS good as IM…doncha have an email? Would save all the poor souls reading our idle chatter here! ;) amythe@yahoo.com And NO! LOVE So Cal..that’s where I was born & raised…but we DO have kind of a territorial silent war…you’re either from the South or the North…but hey! I’m from BOTH so that can’t be half bad, right? LOL! ;)

  8. I’m slightly terrified of both of you.

  9. Elle est magnifique cette eglise. bravo pour tes photos. je te souhaite un bon weeck end


    It is splendid this church. cheer for your photographs. I wish you a good weeck end

  10. Is the church still used for services and service? Not a gift shop or anything? The spire reminds me of Chartres.

    Hey, that is way cool about the wiki photo of the day! I had never known they do that. It really is a magnificent photo, isn’t it?

    After reading Austen’s “Persuasion” I’ve always wanted to visit Bath. You’re making me want to even more.

  11. The church is still in use, I believe, although I don’t know because heavy construction work has been going on inside. I’m not sure if they’re restoring it or converting it into something new. It’s Anglican, go figure.
    If you like Persuasion, then wait for the movie. They’ve just finished shooting it in Bath.
    The funny thing with this place is that tourists love it, and so do residents…for the first five days. When Jane Austen came to visit here the first time, she enjoyed the experience and wrote the mock-gothic novel Northanger Abbey (sp?) (my facts might be wrong about this), but when she lived here, she hated the place. So, I have no idea what I’m saying. If you visit, you’ll love it. If you live here….who knows.

  12. The church reopened for Easter 2007. It looks fantastic now – contemporary and traditional. The pews have gone but it’s still a truly stunning space!

  13. [...] Park on Lyncombe Hill, in the center you see Bath Abbey, behind which the spire belongs to St Michael’s Without. Its spire points to John Eveleigh’s Camden Crescent (1787-1794, not yet posted) in Walcot. [...]

  14. I actually go to St Micheal’s regularly and I can tell you that it is definately still running… unless I’m going to a church that doesn’t exist :D

  15. Even while I’m bewildered at the way this works , thank you for sharing it regardless.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

